Conductor: Cristian Neagu

Soloist: Constantin Sandu (Portugal)


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart:

Concerto no. 21 in C major for piano and orchestra K. 467;

Symphony no. 39 in E flat major K. 543;


A piano score of immense popularity, the Concerto in C major for piano and orchestra K. 467, by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, marks the reunion at a distance of almost a decade between the symphony orchestra and the famous Luso-Romanian pianist Constantin Sandu.

Winner of international competitions in Senigallia, Viotti-Valsesia, Paloma O’Shea – Santander, Epinal or Maria Canals – Barcelona, ​​active solo presence on European and Asian stages, piano personality of influence on current generations of performers, whom he guides from the perspective of the high teaching positions he has held so far at the Conservatóire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris, Conservatoire Royal de Bruxelles, Hogeschool Zuyd Maastricht, Yasar University Izmir and Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien, and last but not least , at the School of Music and Performing Arts in Porto, where he is head of the piano department, Constantin Sandu is one of the most formidable stage partners of a symphonic ensemble, which customizes its piano discourse through coherence, emotion and inspiration.

In the symphonic program in Arad, the pianist intersects with the accompaniment of conductor Cristian Neagu, a wonderful and valuable colleague of whose generation, whose sensitivity for eighteenth-century art also materializes in the symphonic page for orchestral apparatus, chosen from the thematic catalog of the same great Viennese classic.

The penultimate Mozartian symphony, no. 39 in E flat major, which by its tonality anticipates the Beethoven masterpieces Heroic and Imperial, speculates the refinement and modernity in the context of the symphonic trilogy it inaugurates, imprinting elegance and expressiveness on a defining symphonic language for the end of a century it represents. A perfect coupling with the piano score of the evening, one of the most valuable creations of the genre, which also reaches the same density of musical ideas, present in the world of Mozart’s symphonic opposites…


Read more about tickets, prices and discounts here

Ticket Office Hours

Ticket Office – Arad Philharmonic

  • Monday 9 AM - 1 PM
  • Tuesday 9 AM - 1 PM
  • Wednesday 12 PM - 4 PM
  • Thursday 9 AM - 1 PM